International Regulatory Cooperation in Practice

Hosted by the GW Regulatory Studies Center and the European Union Delegation to the United States

The conference featured senior officials from the European Commission, current and former U.S. government officials, stakeholders, and the authors of recent studies on US-EU regulatory cooperation:

Download the conference agenda

Keynote speakers:

  • Amb. David O'Sullivan, Ambassador of the EU to the U.S.
  • Amb. C. Boyden Gray, Boyden Gray & Associates, former Ambassador of the U.S. to the EU

Author presenters:

  • Susan E. Dudley, the George Washington University Regulatory Studies Center; former Administrator of the U.S. Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs
  • Neil Eisner, American University, Washington College of Law; formerly with the U.S. Department of Transportation
  • Richard Parker, University of Connecticut School of Law; formerly in the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
  • Dr. Randall Lutter, University of Virginia, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy; formerly with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • David Zorn, George Mason University, Antonin Scalia Law School; formerly with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Nancy Nord, Law Firm of Olsson Frank Weeda Terman Matz PC; former Commissioner on the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Daniel R. Pérez, the George Washington University Regulatory Studies Center

Additional expert panelists:

  • Geraldine Emberger, Trade Section/EU Delegation Washington, D.C
  • Lirio Liu, U.S. Federal Aviation Administration
  • Thomas Mickler, European Aviation Safety Agency/EU Delegation Washington, D.C
  • Dr. Steve Balla, The George Washington University
  • Anna Fielder, Transatlantic Consumer Dialogue (TACD)
  • Dr. Tamima Itani, Boston Scientific
  • Agnieszka Jarmula, Directorate General for Health & Food Safety, European Commission (DG Sante) 
  • Reeve Bull, Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS)
  • Elizabeth Golberg, Smart Regulation and Work Program/Secretariat General of the European Commission
  • Dominic Mancini, U.S. Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs
  • Denis Redonnet, WTO Affairs, Legal Affairs and Trade in Goods/European Commission (DG Trade)
  • Jeannine Ritchot, Canadian Regulatory Cooperation Council (RCC)
  • Damien Levie, Trade Section/EU Delegation Washington, D.C.
  • Gregory J. Bowles, General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA)